SquadNumbers.com - Football Squad and Shirt Numbers Blog

Sheffield Wednesday re-impose some numbering order

Sheffield Wednesday re-impose some numbering order

Sheffield Wednesday have announced their squad numbers for the coming season.

You’ll recall that, a year ago, the Owls’ numbers for 2016-17 were a topic of conversation for their unconventionality, as owner Dejphon Chansiri tried to generate good fortune.

This time around, the squad is numbered thus:

  1. Keiren Westwood
  2. Jack Hunt
  3. David Jones
  4. Kieran Lee
  5. Morgan Fox
  6. Jordan Rhodes
  7. Steven Fletcher
  8. Barry Bannan
  9. Sam Winnall
  10. Glenn Loovens
  11. Gary Hooper
  12. Tom Lees
  13. Liam Palmer
  14. Atdhe Nuhiu
  15. Lucas Joao
  16. Marco Matias
  17. Adam Reach
  18. George Boyd
  19. Sam Hutchinson
  20. Cameron Dawson
  21. Joe Wildsmith
  22. Ross Wallace
  23. Jake Kean
  24. Daniel Pudil
  25. Almen Abdi
  26. Fernando Forestieri

Seeing as the average reader mightn’t be au fait with all of Wednesday’s squad, we’ll address things in bullet-point form, as we did last year:

  • Goalkeeper Joe Wildsmith is still number two to Keiren Westwood but he’s not wearing the number 2 he did last season, he has moved back to 28, which he wore in 2015-16.
  • The number 2 is now occupied by (shock!) right-back Jack Hunt, who had 32 for the past three seasons
  • New defender Morgan Fox has taken 6
  • Forward Jordan Rhodes moves from 17 to 7 (Alexis Sanchez tribute, perhaps?)
  • Another attacker, Stephen Fletcher – who once moved from 9 to 26 at Sunderland – has had the good grace to switch from 6 to 9
  • Left-back Adam Reach had 9 last year, but he will now wear 20
  • Barry Bannan goes from 41 to 10
  • Adthe Nuhiu takes the 17 that Rhodes vacated, having worn 44 in 2016-17
  • The rest of the teens are the same, except that Lucas Joao reverses his move of last summer, moving from 19 back to 18
  • Marco Matias goes from 21 to 19 as a result, allowing George Boyd to wear the 21 he had at Burnley

There are still a couple of bugbears though:

  • Midfielders David Jones and Kieran Lee retain 3 and 5 respectively, despite 4 and 8 being free
  • And Almen Abdi has switched from 7 to 41, despite never having worn it before.

Still though, a marked improvement.

Previous post
Renumbering Manchester United - a devilish task
Next post
Monday 11s – Premier League 2017/18 squad number changes quiz

1 Comment

  1. August 9, 2017 at 07:56 — Reply

    Thank god Wildsmith is no longer number 2!

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Sheffield Wednesday re-impose some numbering order